Maryland Cybersecurity Center, Multiple tenured and/or tenure- track faculty positions
University of Maryland Institute for Advanced Computer Studies (UMIACS)

Maryland Cybersecurity Center (MC2) has openings for multiple tenured and/or tenure- track faculty positions in cybersecurity. There is particular interest in the broader area of systems security but exceptional candidates will be considered in all areas of cybersecurity such as (in alphabetical order) adversarial machine learning, blockchain and cryptocurrency security, cryptography, data-driven security, human-centered security, network and wireless security, PL- oriented and software security, privacy/censorship/fairness and side-channel analysis, attacks, and defenses.

Founded in 2010, the Center has vibrant research and educational components involving faculty members from several academic departments across campus. The University of Maryland is also home to ACES, the nation’s first undergraduate honors program dedicated to cybersecurity. Computer science and engineering at the University of Maryland are consistently ranked among the top 15 nationally. In 2019, the Center moved into its new state-of-the-art facility, the Brendan Iribe Center for Computer Science and Engineering.

The new hire will have a tenure home either with the Department of Computer Science and the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and will also have a joint appointment at the University of Maryland Institute for Advanced Computer Studies. The opening is for an appointment at the level of (tenured) Full Professor or (tenured) Associate Professor, depending on the level of experience.

Please apply online here (position number 105032).

Applications are accepted all year until all positions are filled. Applicants are strongly encouraged to have complete versions of their materials – including a cover letter, a curriculum vitae, research and teaching statements, and recommendation letters from at least four references.

Questions can be directed to the faculty recruitment committee at