News & Announcements

Bederson named ACM Distinguished Scientist

Dec 29, 2011 - Ben Bederson's significant impact on the human computer interaction field made him a Distinguished Member of the Association for Computing Machinery.

Shneiderman named an IEEE Fellow

Dec 21, 2011 - Ben Shneiderman, who has been championing improved interoperability for electronic health records, has been recognized as an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Fellow.

Subhrahmanian quoted in the New York Times

Dec 05, 2011 - VS Subhrahmanian talks about Computer Science in Africa with the New York Times.

Samet awarded ACM SIGSPATIAL GIS Best Demo Paper Award

Dec 01, 2011 - Hanan Samet received the Best Demo Paper Award in 2011 ACM SIGSPATIAL GIS Conference for the paper: “Porting a Web-Based Mapping Application to a

Chellappa named AAAS Fellow

Nov 29, 2011 - Rama Chellappa has been elected as an American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellow.

Samet received 2011 ACM SIGSPATIAL Distinguished Service Award

Nov 29, 2011 - Hanan Samet has been honored with the 2011 ACM SIGSPATIAL Distinguished Service Award for his dedication and support as the founder and first chair of ACM SIGSPATIAL.

Resnik interviewed by the New Scientist

Nov 21, 2011 - Philip Resnik was interviewed by New Scientist for the article

Bhattacharyya's students recognized by IEEE

Nov 20, 2011 - Shuvra Bhattacharyya and his students received Best Student Paper Award at the 2011 IEEE Workshop on Signal Processing Systems, held in Beirut, Lebanon on early October, for their paper:

Hicks selected as new MC2 Director

Nov 20, 2011 - Michael Hicks will serve as the Director of the Maryland Cybersecurity Center (MC2). Hicks research focus is on developing and evaluating techniques to improve software reliability and security.

Jack Minker receives 2011 Heinz R. Pagels Human Rights Award

Oct 10, 2011 - Professor Emeritus Jack Minker received the 2011 Heinz R. Pagels Human Rights Scientists Award from the New York Academy of Sciences for his work on human rights and scientific freedom of scientists.